Baila Vancouver Dance Blog











{June 9, 2010}   What is the 1st Rule of Ettiquete when learning how to Partner Dance?

This is one of my favorite topics to talk about as we embark on our dancing journey not only do we learn about dance but we also learn about ourselves. Many times during my lessons I need to give feedback to students about how to make the lessons more enjoyable for their dance partners of the moment or of their lives.  What are we talking about here?

We are talking about Forgiveness. Not correcting our partners when they are making mistakes is probably one of the hardest rules to learn when you are dancing. I see most often two scenarios:

Women/Followers tend to correct their male leads when something is not done right on the first or second try.

Men/Leaders tend to correct partners that are a different dance level than themselves.

In both instances I would encourage you to have a new approach:

Don’t Correct…Forgive. What could this look like:

1. Smile
2. Give encouraging comments
3. Seek instructors help or advice

We all learn at different paces and understanding is the key to creating positive results.

Written by Nina Perez director of Baila Vancouver Dance School. Expert Dance Instructor in Argentine Tango, Salsa, and all the latin social dances. For more information www.bailavancouver.com

mneuber says:

Saw your address as a referrer to my blog and wanted to check and to my surprise this is a “dance blog”. My wife and I have been taking lessons and just got back from our first competition and we can so relate how dancing can really help in male/female relationships. I bounce around on my blog but have posted about dancing as well.



Monique G says:

Hello Everyone:

Yes very good advice.
I have seen and heard many different ‘scenarios’ over the years I’ve been dancing and have had many nice compliments but also some odd and harsh remarks.

We all have to remember that dancing is an art and the perfect way to learn about ourselves, and others. Please keep dancing as the learning never stops – it a subject of joy!

Enjoy,
Monique



Great website. Plenty of helpful information here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious.
And naturally, thank you in your sweat!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
